KEY FACTS

  • Process time: 70 minutes
  • Number of items: 4 x 10 = 40
  • Response options: 40 x 4 = 160
  • Criteria for evaluation: Mastering Complexity, Analytical Skills, Customer Orientation, Driving Business, Leadership
  • Evaluation: Overall performance on a scale that consists of five levels, individual results
  • Languages: English, German

Service

We provide and manage the links for the Online Case Study (ENG, DE)

CUSTOMIZING – Individual configuration / modification of the contents (e.g. integration of challenges, conflicts and tasks regarding the target position)

Shortening the Live-AC – outsourcing of individual elements of Assessment or Development Centers

Pre-assessment for Assessment or Development Centers

Provision of a detailed feedback report

The Online Case Study in detail

Demanding Business Stimulation

The innovative Online Case Study combines the advantages of the situational judgement test and the cognitive tests by appointing the candidate as the Head of Office of the imaginary consulting agency “Brooklynmaxx Consulting” with an introduction video. Within 70 minutes the candidate has to deal with 10 Emails and video messages which include four tasks each. The tasks are situations and problems which get brought to an executive’s attention daily and across sectors: Customer requests and complaints, conflicts between colleagues, outcome of benchmarks and economic facts and figures. After a few minutes a new email or video message, which the candidate has to deal with, will appear.

E-Mail Inbox mit 10 E-Mail und Video-Messages
E-Mail Inbox mit 10 E-Mail und Video-Messages

Complex business charts for the editing of tasks​

Online-Case-Study Beispielaufgabe
Online-Case-Study Beispielaufgabe
Online Case Study

Altogether, the candidate has to work on 40 items and has to choose the best and the worst answer out of the four multiple choice response options.

An example would be an email from the candidate’s boss: “The office benchmarking showed that the agency lost a lot of projects to the competition. According to the numbers what are suitable and unsuitable measures to boost our business?”. To answer this question many tables have to be analyzed appropriately. The Online Case Study makes a valid and reliable measurement of competences with five dimensions possible: Mastering Complexity, Analytical Skills, Customer Orientation, Driving Business and Leadership. Every competence is covered by 8 items in order to reduce coincidences.

In contrast to the Case Study and the In-Basket, which are written tasks on paper, the evaluation for the Online Case Study is objective and ensured by the standard norms (relevant for graduates/ young professionals and existing executives). An objective statement regarding the candidate’s performance is ensured by the evaluation of the results in comparison with a broad norm sample.

Answers per multiple choice 123 Automatic creation of the feedback report

The computerized conduction reduces the administrative work to a minimum and enables the candidate to work on the Case Study independently of time and location. The Online Case Study is perceived as more interesting and motivating/ animating than classic intelligence tests because of its business orientation in combination with tasks which are close to reality.

The fields of utilization are diverse: Preselection of trainees, young professionals and soon to be executives for recruiting procedures; Reduction of live-process-time and acceleration into a Pre-Assessment for the AC/ DC of internal high potential employees and job candidates.

Regarding the validity the Online Case Study is on the same level as the standard AC-tasks. The studies of validity identified a high correlation of up to 0.736 concerning the prediction of results in a three-day Development Center or potential analysis.

Online-Case-Study Ergebnisbericht
Online-Case-Study Ergebnisbericht

Online Case Study

Online Case Study: KEY FACTS

Bearbeitungsdauer: 70 

Min.Anzahl Items / Vorgänge: 4 x 10 = 40

Anzahl Antwortalternativen: 40 x 4 = 160

Bewertungskriterien: Komplexitätsverständnis, Analysefähigkeit, Kundenorientierung, Unternehmerisches Handeln und Leadership

Auswertung: Gesamtergebnis auf 5-er Skala, Einzelergebnisse

Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch

Dienstleistungen BROOKLYNMAXX

Bereitstellung und Verwaltung von Links zur Online-Case-Study (DE, ENG)

CUSTOMIZING – Individuelle Konfiguration / Modifikation der Inhalte (z.B.: Integration von Herausforderungen, Konflikten & Aufgaben der zu besetzenden Zielposition)

Kürzen des Live-AC – Herauslagern  von einzelnen Verfahrenselementen

Pre-Assessment für Assessment-/Development Center
Bereitstellung eines differenzierten Ergebnisberichtes

INTEGRATION ONLINE CASE STUDY IN ASSESSMENT CENTER

Anspruchsvolle Business Simulation

Die innovative Online Case Study vereint die Vorteile von Situational Judgement Tests sowie kognitiven Testverfahren, indem der Teilnehmer durch ein Intro-Video in die Position des Head of Office eines fiktiven Beratungsunternehmen „Brooklyn Maxx Consulting“ versetzt wird. Im Zuge dessen werden innerhalb von 70 Minuten  10 E-Mails und Video-Messages bearbeitet, die jeweils vier Teilaufgaben beinhalten. Hierbei handelt es sich um alltagstypische Problemstellungen, die branchenübergreifend an eine Führungs- oder Nachwuchskraft herangetragen werden. Es werden Anfragen und Beschwerden von Kunden, Konflikte zwischen Kollegen, Konflikte zwischen Kollegen sowie die Auswertung von Benchmarks und Unternehmenszahlen präsentiert. Anschließend „fliegt“ jeweils eine neue E-Mail oder Video-Message herein, die dann zu bearbeiten ist.

Komplexe Business-Charts zur Bearbeitung der Aufgaben

Insgesamt sind auf diese Weise 40 Items zu bearbeiten. Hierbei ist jeweils in einem Multiple-Choice-Format die beste und die schlechteste Antwort aus vier möglichen Antwortalternativen auszuwählen.

Eine Beispielsaufgabe ist eine E-Mail der Chefin an den Teilnehmer mit der Fragestellung: „Im Office Benchmarking ist erkennbar, dass die Beratung viele Projekte an die Konkurrenz verloren hat. Was sind auf Basis der Zahlen geeignete und weniger geeignete Maßnahmen, um das Business wieder nach vorne zu bringen?“. Für die anschließende Beantwortung der Frage müssen dann mehrere Tabellen angemessen ausgewertet werden. Die Online Case Study ermöglicht somit eine valide und reliable Kompetenzmessung auf fünf Dimensionen: Komplexitätsverständnis, Analysefähigkeit, Unternehmerisches Handeln, Kundenorientierung und Leadership. Jede der aufgeführten Kompetenzen wird durch 8 Items abgedeckt, so dass Zufallstendenzen reduziert werden.

Im Unterschied zum papierbezogenen Postkorb bzw. Fallstudie ist die Auswertung auswertungsobjektiv und abgesichert anhand von Vergleichsnormen (aktuell für Absolventen / Young Professionals und bestehende Führungskräfte). Aufgrund der Auswertung der Ergebnisse in Relation zu einer umfangreichen Normstichprobe ist eine objektive Aussage über den Leistungsstand des Teilnehmers möglich.

Automatische Generierung des Ergebnisberichtes

Durch die vollständig computergestützte Anwendung wird der administrative Aufwand auf ein Minimum reduziert. Darüber hinaus wird so die zeit- bzw. ortsunabhängige Durchführung der Online Case Study ermöglicht. Im Vergleich zu klassischen Intelligenztests wird die Bearbeitung der Online Case Study durch den Business-Bezug und die Einbettung in ein realitätsnahes Szenario als interessant und anregend wahrgenommen.

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten sind vielfältig:  in der Rekrutierung zur Vorauswahl von Trainees, Young Professionals und angehenden Führungskräften; in AC / DC bei internen Potenzialträgern oder Bewerbern zur Reduzierung der Live-Bearbeitungszeit und Vorverlegung in ein Pre-Assessment.

Hinsichtlich ihrer Aussagekraft ist die Online Case Study gleichauf mit klassischen AC-Übungen. So haben Validierungsstudien hohe Korrelationen von bis zu 0,736** in der Vorhersage der Ergebnisse von ein- bis dreitägigen Development Center oder Potenzialanalysen ergeben.

E-Mail Inbox mit 10 E-Mail und Video-Messages

E-Mail Inbox mit 10 E-Mail und Video-Messages

Online Case Study Beispielaufgabe
Antworten im Multiple-Choice-Format
Organigramm

Teilnehmer in der Rolle des ’Head of Office’ des Kölner Büros

Online Case Study Ergebnisbericht

Differenzierter Ergebnisbericht mit individuellen Ergebnissen auf fünf Kompetenzen