Online-Assessment

Play Video

Key Facts

Process time: 90 minutes

Number of items: 14

Criteria for evaluation: Mastering Complexity, Analytical Skills, Customer Orientation, Driving Business, Leadership, Communication, Diligence

Evaluation: Overall performance on a scale that consists of five levels, individual results

Languages: English, German

Services BROOKLYNMAXX

We provide and manage the links for the Online-Assessment (ENG, DE)

CUSTOMIZING – Individual configuration/ modification of the contents (e.g. integration of challenges, conflicts and tasks regarding the target position)

Shortening/ Replacing the Live-AC – well-founded statements concerning the qualification of the candidate regarding seven competences

Qualitative evaluation by a trained consultant

Provision of a feedback report incl. Management Summary and qualitative evaluation of the behavior

Perception of the maximal scope of behavior

Conventional online-tests are effected greatly by a major restriction: social acceptance. Mostly the question is:
“Which of these four possible answers would you choose?” The result usually consists of a socially accepted/ desired
answers. In this context, the artificial limitation of behavioral variety is a key point of criticism.

Our Online Assessment encounters this criticism with a new type of response option: The answers can be answered and expressed freely by using emails and video messages. Our Online Assessment includes tasks with e.g. customer complaints, analysis of business-related tables or conflict situations. Afterwards, the candidates are asked to address the customer or the team directly in a limited time period of one minute. In contrast to previous online-tests, a completely different scope of behavior can be evaluated: How clever does the candidate address conflicts? How well does he/ she deal with a critical customer? How does the candidate phrase orders?

To achieve the maximum or a rather high score the candidate needs to work on the case study very thoroughly – this includes the stimulus content as well as the additional fact-sheets. The facts sheets consist of e.g. office benchmarking, cost overviews or multiple project documents. The challenge is to understand, subsequently to reduce it the essentials and interpret the content.

Asynchronous evaluation

Freely expressed answers call for a separate evaluation – in contrast to the standard Assessment Center, this evaluation is not parallel to the conduction but is done afterwards instead (“asynchronous”). The software utilizes certain methods for the evaluation that include a specific guideline of how the points are assigned to the individual answers. Standardized evaluation procedures guarantee the maximum objectivity regarding the evaluation of the complete process.

In addition to the quantitative evaluation with points, evaluators can extract quotations as proof from the candidate’s mails. Thereby, an approximately 10 pages feedback report is compiled. It includes statements regarding: Mastering Complexity, Customer Orientation, Communication, Diligence, Analytical Skills, Leadership and Driving business. The Online Assessment is a mix of online-test and Assessment Center and combines the advantages of both: In addition to quotations, it includes standard norms to compare the candidate’s results with other candidates’ performances objectively. Until now, this was not possible for previous Assessment Centers.

Validity close to the quality of a complete assessment center

In a study to validate the Online Assessment (Kriebel, 2016), N = 30 participants were asked to complete the Online Assessment and, afterwards go through the standard Assessment Center (IV= Interview, RP= Role Play, IB= In-Basket). The table shows the correlation (see fig.). As expected, the capacity of the competence Leadership (LS) and Customer Orientation (CM) correlate with the results of the team exercise, the capacity of Analytical Skills (AS) with the results of the Live-AC and the Interview correlates with the proper competences. Altogether, a remarkably high correlation between the Online Assessment and the Assessment Center exists (r = .864**). In addition, the reliability of the procedure was evaluated with a Split-Half-coefficient of .936.

Usage: Combination Online Assessment with Assessment Center

The completion of the Online Assessment requires approximately 90 minutes. Regarding the necessary effort and its quality the Online Assessment is somewhat between the standard Online Tests and the Assessment Center. This creates the possibility of new procedures, like e.g. the hybrid AC which is an abbreviation of the standard AC or Development Center. The results of the Online Assessment facilitate a preliminary estimation of the candidate’s potential which leads to the reduction of the amount of work and costs: Potentially unqualified candidates are identified beforehand which is why they will not receive an invitation to participate in the Live-AC.

Moreover, the Online Assessment proofed itself to be a convenient and helpful tool for Employer Branding – the aesthetically appealing design, the modern visualizations and the unique type of tasks improve the employer attractiveness greatly.

Video-Nachricht von Chefin

Videonachricht der Chefin

Teilnehmer nimmt Videonachricht auf

Antworten werden frei formuliert (Videonachrichten oder Emails)

Qualitative Auswertung anhand standardisierter Musterlösung

Qualitative evaluation based on standardized sample solution

Korrelationen des Online Assessment

Intercorrelations Online Assessment and Live Assessment(Source: Kriebel 2016)

Online Assessment

Video abspielen

Online Assessment: Key Facts

Bearbeitungsdauer: 90 Minuten

Anzahl Items / Vorgänge: 14

Bewertungskriterien: Mastering Complexity, Analytical Skills, Customer Orientation, Driving Business, Leadership, Communication, Diligence

Auswertung: Gesamtergebnis auf 5-er Skala, Einzelergebnisse

Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch

KOMPLETTES ONLINE-ASSESSMENT-CENTER FÜR MITTELSTÄNDLER

Dienstleistungen BROOKLYNMAXX

Bereitstellung und Verwaltung von Links zum Online-Assessment(DE, ENG)

CUSTOMIZING – Wir passen die Inhalte auf individuelle Anforderungen an (z.B.: Integration von Herausforderungen, Konflikten & Aufgaben der zu besetzenden Zielposition)

Kürzen / Ersatz des Live-AC – Es lassen sich dadurch fundierte Aussagen zu Passung und Eignung eines Bewerbers auf insgesamt sieben Kompetenzen treffen

Qualtitative Auswertung durch geschulten Consultant

Bereitstellung eines Ergebnisberichtes inkl. Management Summary und qualtitativer Verhaltensbeurteilung

Erfassung von maximaler Verhaltensbandbreite

Herkömmliche Online-Tests leiden bisher unter einer großen Einschränkung: Soziale Erwünschtheit. Meist lautet dabei das Antwortformat: „Welche der vier Entscheidungsalternativen würden Sie wählen?“. Als Ergebnis hat man häufig sozial erwünschte Antworten. Die künstliche Einschränkung der Verhaltensvielfalt stellt dabei den zentralen Kritikpunkt dar.

Wir begegnen dieser Kritik durch unser Online Assessment mit einem neuen Format: Die Antworten können mit E-Mails oder Videonachrichten erstmals frei formuliert werden. Dabei sind die Aufgaben z. B. Beschwerden von Kunden, Auswertung von Geschäftstabellen oder Konflikte im Team. Die Kandidaten werden dann gebeten, sich in einer zeitlich begrenzten Antwort an den Kunden oder das Team zu wenden. Im Unterschied zu bisherigen Online-Tests wird  eine ganz andere Verhaltensbandbreite bewertet: Wie geschickt werden Konflikte angesprochen? Wie wendet sich der Kandidat an einen kritischen Kunden? Wie werden Aufträge an Mitarbeiter formuliert?

Um eine hohe Punktzahl zu erreichen, müssen Teilnehmer sich intensiv mit der Fallstudie auseinandersetzen. Diese besteht aus dem Stimulus Material an sich, als auch den ergänzenden Fact-Sheets. Zu den Fact-Sheets zählen beispielhaft ein Office Benchmarking, ein Cost Overview oder auch diverse Projektdokumentationen. Die Herausforderung besteht zunächst in der Erfassung und anschließend in der Reduzierung und Interpretation des Materials.

Asynchrone Auswertung

Frei formulierte Antworten bedürfen einer gesonderten Auswertung – diese erfolgt im Unterschied zu einem klassischen Assessment Center jedoch nicht parallel zu der Durchführung, sondern unabhängig / später („asynchron“). Dabei gibt die Software Bewertungsmasken vor. In diesen ist genau vorgegeben, welche Antwort welchen Punktwert ergibt. Standardisierte Auswertungsschemata garantieren während des gesamten Prozesses maximale Auswertungsobjektivität.

Neben der Vergabe von Punktwerten können vom Auswerter beispielhafte Zitate als Belege aus den Antwort-Mails der Teilnehmer herauskopiert werden. So entsteht am Ende des Auswertungsprozesses ein etwa 10-seitiger Ergebnisbericht. Aussagen gibt es zu den Kompetenzen: Mastering Complexity, Customer Orientation, Communication, Diligence, Analytical Skills, Leadership und Driving Business. Das Online Assessment als Symbiose von Online-Test und Assessment Center bietet somit den Vorteil aus beiden Welten: Neben Belegen und beispielhaften Zitaten gibt es einen Normwert, der auswertungsobjektiv die Leistung des Teilnehmers im Vergleich zu anderen Teilnehmern ausweist. Das ist so im bisherigen Assessment Center nicht möglich.

Validität nahe an der Qualität eines kompletten Assessment Center

In einer Validierungsstudie (Kriebel, 2016) bearbeiteten N=30 Teilnehmer, das Online Assessment und durchliefen anschließend ein komplettes, klassisches Assessment Center (IV=Interview, RÜ=Rollenübung, PK=Postkorb). Die untenstehende Tabelle zeigt die Zusammenhänge. Hierbei korrelieren die Leistungen die Leistungen erwartungsgemäß in der Kompetenz Leadership (LS) und Kundenorientierung (CM) mit den Ergebnissen in der Rollenübung, die Leistung in Analytischer Kompetenz (AS) mit dem Postkorb des Life-AC und das Interview mit passsenden Kompetenzen. Dadurch ergab sich insgesamt ein außergewöhnlich hoher Zusammenhang von r=.864** zwischen Online Assessment und Assessment Center. Die Zuverlässigkeit des Verfahrens ist aufgrund eines Split-Half-Koeffizienten von .936 ausgezeichnet.

Korrelationen des Online Assessment

Interkorrelationen Online Assessment und Live Assessment (Quelle: Kriebel, 2016)

Chefin im Online Assesment

Video-Nachricht der Chefin

Antwortformat im Online Assessment
Antworten werden frei formuliert (Videonachrichten oder Emails)
Auswertung im Online Assessment
Qualitative Auswertung anhand standardisierter Musterlösung

Anwendung: Kombination Online Assessment mit Assessment Center

Der Durchführungsaufwand liegt bei etwa 90 Minuten. In Aufwand und Qualität liegt das Online Assessment zwischen herkömmlichen Online-Tests und dem Assessment Center. Dadurch ergeben sich neue Vorgehensweisen, z. B. hybride AC, also die Verkürzung des herkömmlichen AC oder DC. Ergebnisse lassen hier eine vorläufige Potenzialeinschätzung zu. Der Nutzen besteht dabei in einer deutlichen Aufwands- und Kostenersparnis: Möglicherweise nicht qualifizierte Kandidaten werden vorab identifiziert, sodass diese keine Einladung zum Live-AC erhalten. Am Tag des klassischen Verfahrens gewinnen Sie durch die Auslagerung außerdem wertvolle Zeit.

Mit Blick auf Employer Branding (zu dt. „Arbeitgebermarke“) etabliert sich das Online Assessment als attraktivitätssteigerndes Instrument – das ästhetisch ansprechende Design, die modernen Visualisierungen und das unkonventionelle Aufgabenformat zahlen in hohem Maße auf die Arbeitgeberattraktivität ein.